Handling Stress, Right Way vs Wrong Way aka: My Way

I don’t handle stress well. I am ridiculously, comically bad at appropriately coping when I am feeling overwhelmed. There is the everyday stress of trying to keep three children alive, taking them all to their myriad of activities and trying to keep the house from looking like hoarders live here. And then there is acute stress, like trying to move a family of five and 15 years worth of crap into a new house. I would love to say that I am a pillar of strength when times get tough, but that would be a big, fat lie.
It is ironic because, as a school psychologist, I spend a large part of my workday helping students learn coping skills for handling all sorts of emotions. It is a case of “do what I say, not what I do” I suppose. Luckily my students don’t have the pleasure of witnessing my disastrous ways of handling stressful situations.
There are many well-established, researched based tips for handling stress and anxiety. I can spout them off to kiddos in a heartbeat. I just am not great at taking my own advice. The following are top tips from the Anxiety and Depression Association of America for handling anxiety and stress.
Right Way: Take a time out. Remove yourself from the anxiety-inducing situation.
My Way: Hide in the hall closet looking at Instagram on my phone while the kids are screaming my name and asking for a snack.
Read rest here
Leave a Reply

