Lowering my Expectations

From the moment I found out I was pregnant with my first child, I had an idea in my head of what kind of mother I would be. I was fairly certain I would be a pretty amazing one. Now, 12 years and 3 children later, I have discovered that my self-imposed expectations may have been set a bit high. Here are but just a few examples:

Before Kids: “My house will be clean at all times so that my children have a safe, healthy, and clutter-free environment in which to live.”

Now: I try hard to keep my house clean, but those damn kids just mess it up again. I have decided that I can spend my time dusting furniture and washing windows, or I can spend my time playing games of “Epic Four Square” in the driveway making memories with the kids. Memories of me beating their tushies at “Epic Four Square”. (For those who are wondering, “Epic Four Square” is a very competitive, very cut-throat, four square game that the kids and I made up. The rules keep evolving over time, there may or may not be blood involved at any given point, and, for the record, I am currently the reigning champion). So, no, my house isn’t spotless. Not even close. I spend my time playing with my kids. And also playing Words with Friends.

Read rest here

Leave a Reply

