Watch Out for Rolling Eyeballs!

My daughter is 8 years old. EIGHT. Which, as far as I can tell, stands for an Eye-rolling, Impertinent, Grandiose, Headstrong Tyrant.

She is starting to develop perfect her sassiness and had lots of practice  over Christmas break. For two weeks straight she was rolling her eyes so hard at anything I said that I worried they would fall out of her head.

Her father and I do not think that this behavior is either cute or funny and are trying our best to nip it in the bud now. God forbid it gets worse; she’s not even a teenager yet! We know that underneath all that sass and backtalk, our sweet, compliant, friendly little girl is in there somewhere.

We also know that she is growing up and is attempting to exert her independence and have her voice be heard. It is our job as her parents to make sure that the voice she is using is one that others want to hear.

On Sunday her dad told her to do something and she rolled her eyes. He told her to say “okay” and not to roll her eyes.

“I didn’t roll my eyes!” she protested.  I told her that I also saw her and asked how she could have answered more respectfully.

Later that night, when she was supposed to be in bed, she came downstairs and told me she couldn’t sleep.

“What’s up?”

“Well, what if I just can’t stop rolling my eyes and I do it to my teacher? I mean, I didn’t even know I was doing that to dad earlier. Will I get in trouble if I roll my eyes at my teacher?”

This opened a good opportunity to discuss how behaviors become habits and how she should be very careful to not roll her eyes so it doesn’t become any more of a habit.

Also, they may roll out of your head and onto the floor. You don’t want to lose your eyes.

We made it the entire day without incident. No spontaneous eye rolling, no serious backtalk, no phone calls from the teacher, and no lost eyeballs.

Little victories. emoticon-50e5bdb28ea7239d1d1ca729b278d9d5246e4e32-s6-c30

Leave a Reply

