What Are These Young Whippersnappers Listening to These Days?

Sometimes I feel really old.   When I get up in the morning and 96 of my bones crack and pop is one.  Listening to popular songs on the radio is another.   There are currently many songs on the radio that I really like.  But there are quite a few that I just don’t understand.  And yet I find myself singing along to them EVERY TIME!  Here are my current top 3:

3.  “Black Widow Baby” by Iggy Azalea.  This song always gets in my head.  The unfortunate part is that one time I heard it is “black widdle baby” and now I can’t unhear it.  I always picture a cute little black baby and then the rest of the song doesn’t go with the image in my head.

2.  “This Summer’s Gonna Hurt Like a Motherf***er” by Maroon 5.  My issue with this song is that it’s NOT APPROPRIATE.  In our house we say “bottom” instead of “butt” and “toot” instead of “fart”.   Motherf***er is NOT in our vocabulary.  Who am I kidding?  We all know it’s in mine, but definitely not any other member’s of my family.  The radio version of this song says “this summer’s gonna hurt like a mother uh huh”.  Is this better?  And the song is very catchy.  My 4 year old sings it non-stop.  This summer I trained for a 1/2 marathon and got an IT band injury, so the song was kind of my theme song.  I just had to remember to sing the “uh-huh” instead of the actual words.  That’s a lot of pressure.

1. “I Can’t Feel My Face When I’m With You” by the Weekend.  I can’t feel my face when I’m with you?? What does that even mean?  Is that a good thing?  The song makes it out to seem as though this is a positive notion.  The only time I can’t feel my face is if I am walking outside in subzero temperatures, or if I’ve had some sort of novocaine shot.  Neither of which are at all pleasant.  If I have been drinking a lot maybe my lips will go numb, but never my whole face.  I just don’t understand this song.  Have all the words and combinations of words for songs been used up by the year 2015?  That is the only answer I can think of for why this song was written.  The sad part of it is that it is so darn catchy!  I find myself unconsciously singing along to it when it is on the radio, or worse, when it is stuck in my head.  Which it is frequently.

Maybe I should just stick to the oldies.  Like MADONNA!! Playing on the OLDIE’S STATION.   Songs from my 80’s childhood being played on the Oldie’s station =  another thing that makes me feel old.  If you need me I will be over here putting on Bengay and listening to a little U2 in my rocking chair.

mp3_player_black

Leave a Reply

