I am superbly, fabulously mediocre at just about everything I do!

If there’s one thing I can’t stand, it’s brussels sprouts. If there’s another thing I can’t stand, it’s being idle. I love to be busy, so I keep myself sufficiently maxed out at all times. There’s the fact that I have three children. Nuff said. I also have a “real job” that I went to graduate school for and everything. I love my real job. I love the people I work with, I love what I do, I love that I feel I make a difference sometimes in the lives of those who need someone to make a difference for them. And I love that I can eat lunch at my desk with no children around.

In my “free time” I have a photography business. This is another “job” that I adore! I can’t believe that I actually get paid to do something I love doing. The main reasons I enjoy being a photographer are that it is a fun creative release for me, it is fairly low stress (though time consuming) and it gives me a chance to be outside meeting fun new people. I am purely self-taught, and, though I have spent HOURS upon HOURS reading, researching, and practicing, practicing, practicing, I still have a hard time considering myself a “professional”. I love what I do, I am happy with the results, and my clients seem to be happy with their photos, but I am one of about a million in my city alone who do exactly what I do. Many are much, much more talented, a few are less.  I’d say I’m somewhere in the middle.  I still haven’t mastered white balance or shooting in RAW, but I know enough to make sure the Miller Light cans are out of the shot.  I have had more people than I can count tell me that I should do photography full time. I always say no, that it is just a fun hobby and that if it was my job that had to pay the bills it would be too stressful. Besides I have a “real job” that I like!

I also enjoy writing and blogging and currently have three live blogs that keep me busy as well. While I enjoy writing, I know that I have some flaws. Look at all the sentences above that begin with “I”. Or include the word “love”. Geez, get a thesaurus and use it, would ya? I love to start my sentences with conjunctions. And I overuse quotation marks because I think it’s “fun”. I end sentences with prepositions, I have run-on sentences, and I use the words “that” and “things” too much. And I don’t care. I’m not a professional writer, I just keep my blogs for fun. But again, people tell me that I should quit my “real job” and write blogs or write a book or write something. Again, I say no, that sounds like too much pressure.

So, to describe my pastimes in a nutshell….. it’s already been established that I’m not winning any Mother of the Year awards, I am a mediocre photographer, I am a pretty terrible writer, and, apparently, I’m pretty crappy at my “real job” since so many people are trying to get me out of it.
Maybe it’s time for a new hobby. Maybe one that I can excel at. (I know, I know…. “maybe one at which I can excel” <eye rolling>). Hmmmm…. I got nothin. I think I’ll just keep sucking at the things I already do. I’m too busy to learn anything new.

Leave a Reply

