You Better RedNeckognize….

According to a quote I saw on Facebook (so, obviously, it’s true), Aristotle said “We are what we repeatedly do”.

Crap….

If that’s true it means I am a Pinterest surfing, complaining, Toddlers and Tiaras watching, Words with Friends playing, junk food eating, oversleeping, obsessing, nagging whiner.

Don’t think I’ll be listing that self description on any future resumes.

Speaking of Toddlers and Tiaras….. I have also been watching (and yes, even dvr recording) TLCs latest educational and inspirational masterpiece…. Here Comes Honey Boo Boo.  If you are not familiar with this edifying example of American culture, the basic premise of the show is the daily life of 6 year old Alana, aka Honey Boo Boo, her mother, Momma, (who bears a striking resemblance to Jabba the Hut), her father, Sugar Daddy, her three older sisters, one of whom is pregnant at the age of 17, and her pet pig.  Alana is on the pageant circuit and was previously featured on Toddlers and Tiaras. The family lives somewhere in the South and they proudly embrace their “redneck” lifestyle.

I’m ashamed to admit, I LOVE this show!  I’m ashamed because instead of doing something to improve myself such as training for a marathon or learning to speak Russian, I am spending my Wednesday nights watching a grown woman pass gas and pretend to pick bugs out of her hair (I hope to high heaven she is pretending).  But I can’t help but laugh my ass off every time I watch it. Critics of the show state that TLC is exploiting the family and portraying Southern Americans in a negative light.  I don’t think that’s true.  I think they are portraying this particular family in a somewhat…..okay, overwhelmingly…. negative (but hilarious) light.  Anyone with half a brain knows that the majority of people who live in the south are decent, upstanding citizens, even if they do call pop “Coke”.

I think it’s the self-deprecating humor that I can relate to.  I hope to God it’s that and not the belly jiggling, gas passing and bug picking.  What I love most is that the family seems to know that they are being filmed to look like crazy hillbillies, and they don’t give a damn.  Well, let me clarify.  I think that Momma and her girls know what’s going on.  The dad, Sugar Daddy……he’s got about as many screws missing as he does teeth, and I’m not sure he knows the difference between his youngest daughter and her pet pig.  Although in his defense, they are both very round, dressed in a lot of pink, and squeal a lot.

Is the family exploiting itself for money and fame?  Hay-ell yes they are!  Honey Boo Boo got her name from the quote “A dolla makes me holla honey boo boo child” Would I do that to my family? I don’t think so. But, to this crazy family I say “go for it!” Or, in the verbage of the pageant world….. “Get it Girl!”

Image

Leave a Reply

