Bad Parenting Moments

This morning on my drive to work I was listening to the radio DJs talking about “bad parenting moments”.  I had a hard time relating because I, personally, have never had a bad parenting moment.  I have maintained my calm and composure during every encounter with my children.  I have limited their television viewing time to no more than 20 minutes per day.  I have ensured that they develop proper eating habits and have cultivated a love for leafy vegetables.  And I have enforced tooth-brushing and flossing after every meal.

Whatever!  The above statements are about as true as the weight listed on my driver’s license and that my hair is naturally blond.  I can’t think of a day that I have not had a “bad parenting  moment”.  On an embarrassingly regular basis I lose my cool with my kids, I allow them to watch too much T.V. so that I can empty the dishwasher, sweep the floor, do a load of laundry, catch up on Pinterest, play Words with Friends….. etc., sometimes I feed them cereal and pop tarts for dinner, and, if I can remember to get them to brush their teeth in the morning AND at night it is a huge accomplishment for me.

Surprisingly I am not too concerned about my bad parenting moments (BPMs).  In fact, I embrace them.  Only by accepting our imperfections can we work toward perfecting ourselves.  Plus, if I didn’t take ownership for my BPMs I would be a BIG, FAT LIAR!  Because I dare you to show me one parent out there who has not accidentally locked her child in the house….along with her phone and her keys.  Or forgotten that it was “Pajama Day” at school, thereby effectively ruining her poor son’s life because he was the only kid wearing sweatpants and a sweatshirt (which are ridiculously close to pajamas anyway).  Or told her kids that if they didn’t stop screaming in the car that the police would arrest them for disturbing the peace.

Okay, so maybe those things only apply to me, but I doubt it.  I know from talking to my friends that we all have BPMs.  And, even though we are not perfect, we try our damn best to do the right thing for our kids.  To keep them safe and healthy, to teach them right from wrong, to educate them, to mold them to be good people.  And sometimes we will falter and do or say things that are not perfect or that we are not proud of.  But we can rest assured knowing that we are doing our best, that our children love us unconditionally, and that we are not alone.  Right?  Either that, or I really am just a bad mom and I need to find new friends.

2 thoughts on “Bad Parenting Moments

  1. This is so true! I have at least 5-10 BPMs a day. I’m always forgetting to brush my daughters teeth in the morning & to make her go pee before we leave the house. I figure if we’re all dressed and I haven’t forgotten anyone, then I’m doing pretty good!

Leave a Reply

